Vienna Series

The Wanderer above the Mists’ (1817-18) courtesy of, reproduced under creative commons
‘The Wanderer above the Mists’ (1817-18)
courtesy of
reproduced under creative commons

A series which brought together the four greatest Classical composers in four imaginative programmes.

Schubert’s three final utterances, by turns tragic and lyrical, dramatic and serene, were juxtaposed with works by Haydn and Mozart, showing their wide stylistic and pianistic range. The images of Mozart, the superficial note-spinner, the good-humoured witty ‘Papa’ Haydn, and Schubert, the writer of pretty tunes, were here starkly contradicted.

The last concert featured Beethoven, a colossus straddling the 18th and 19th centuries. His variations on the famous ‘Eroica’ theme symbolise, in the mythical figure of Prometheus magnanimous endurance and hope against unmerited suffering and oppression.

The four concerts were performed by Gusztáv Fenyő, one of Scotland’s leading musicians, who is well-known for his cycles of Beethoven, Chopin and Shostakovich. He has played a comprehensive solo, chamber and concerto repertoire from Bach to the present day in three continents and broadcast for the BBC, Australian Broadcasting Commission and Hungarian Radio.

His previous recitals at St Bride’s in 2011 featured an all-Liszt programme, which he also performed throughout Hungary, to mark the composer’s bicentenary.

Gusztáv Fenyő

‘…intelligent understanding of the meaning and direction of whatever he plays.’ Sunday Telegraph, Sydney

Concert dates and programmes